Confidence and Overconfidence

I believe I can do this.  Sure, I have not properly trained, nor have I ever faced such a physical and mental challenge, but I still believe I can finish.  

How can I explain the confidence given my utter lack of experience in any sort of triathlons ?  Frankly, it comes down to my mentality, my belief, and my underlying physical condition (in shape but I don’t consider myself the world’s best athlete.)

I completely respect the challenge.  It is a formidable task where anything could go wrong (broken goggles, flat tire, cramps, body shut-down, pulled muscle).  

I am extremely grateful for all the help and advice I have received.  It has been heart-warming to have complete strangers offer their expertise when they do not know you from  a hole in the wall.

I am confident that I can finish.  I am not cocky enough to think I will compete.  I am confident that if I eat and drink more than I deem necessary, not over-exert myself even if I feel “good,” and maintain my persistence and determination , I think I have a shot. 

Thank you to everyone for all the well wishes, I hope to make you all proud!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confidence and Overconfidence

  1. Teagan says:

    Congratulations on your finish!! It’ll be interesting to see how your recovery after the race goes. 🙂

    There’s a lot of debate on a certain triathlon site about you finishing the swim in the time you did, on the training you did. It’s amusing.

    congratulations!!

    • Hi there. Thank you for your message. I appreciate you pointing out the debate, I did not know about it beforehand. This is what it seems, I did not train but am in good shape from soccer. The bike killed me, partly because I wasn’t using great equipment (but it was the only way I could get a bike delivered 12 hrs before race time) and partly because it was very very hard.

      thank you again for your post

Leave a Reply

