What have you done for me lately?

Amazing how fast time flies. We are almost a full month removed from the Ironman. It flew by in a flash.

Anyways, as my father always preached, you are only as good as your next achievement/ do not rest on your laurels. George Bernard Shaw was famously quoted as saying, “Satisfaction is death” and these are just a couple mantras that I try to live by.

More to the point, here is what will be next. Before I say whatever it is, there is no other mainstream physical endeavor that will rival an Ironman. (I do not consider ultra-marathons, double ironmen, or death races to the North Pole as mainstream).

At 9:00am on Tuesday February 1st, I will be running the stairs of the Empire State Building.

The course record is held by a man named Paul Crake who stormed the stairs in 9 minutes and 33 seconds in 2003. The female record holder is Andrea Mayr who impressively ran the 1,576 steps in 11:23. Last year’s winner, Thomas Dold, finished in 10:07 with the women’s champion crossing the finish line at 13:27.

No big deal here, 1,576 steps, 86 flights, 400 contestants. I do not plan on competing to win but I do plan on finishing under 15 minutes. There are professional “vertical marathoners” who run up stairs like its their job (well, because it is their job)

15 minutes to climb a building about a quarter mile above ground level. I think that is about right, but then again I don’t have much context.

Here is a disclaimer from the registration site: <>

So if 15-25 minutes is average, is setting a sub 15 minute goal fair? Having learned that walking is not permitted and that those who sign up are in good physical shape, I think 15 minutes is a fair target.

I am debating wearing a 50 pound flak-jacket to also add some spice to the challenge. I’d love to hear any suggestions/comments you had on this so please send them my way!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What have you done for me lately?

  1. Pingback: Triumph For First Time Tri-Athlete: The Ultimate Race to Raise Awareness

Leave a Reply

